Lazy Days and Poo

IMG_20140714_222400_247 (2)

Today, I wanted to make an apron.  I’m not really sure why I was so focused on an apron.  I guess it’s because I keep seeing all these really cute ones for $10-25 at the store.  Even though I haven’t made anything sewing wise since I was a teenager and even though my sewing machine and desk are covered in clutter, I seem to think I could make one that is just as cute and at least useable.  I already have the machine and a box full of random pieces of fabric that I want to piece together to make my apron.  But, while I was looking at my desk and sewing machine still covered with stickers, toys, and other such nonsense, I thought about how I just did not have it in me to clean that off today. This would have to be a project for another day.  The day where I wake up and am ready to just go.

For some reason, as I sat staring at my cluttered desk, I also thought about shampoo.  I need to buy more shampoo soon, and my daughter doesn’t have anymore upstairs in her bathroom.  However, I am not going to buy it anymore.  I have decided to take my own little stand on the shampoo industry (I know I’m going to make such a dent in their profit margin).  I am taking a stand against the costs, the chemicals, and the injustice with animal testing.  (Okay, so, I started buying soaps that don’t test on animals a while ago, but this makes it sound more dramatic and cool or crazy…either way, I like it).  About three years ago, give or take a few months, I read about a different kind of hair cleansing routine that is similar to the old shampoo and conditioner.  There are no harsh chemicals and you can supposedly cut your hair cleaning funds down to $5 a year.  Crazy right? I know you are just screaming from your seats “what is this awesome product?!?”  Well, it’s baking soda and apple cider vinegar.  Yep, that’s it (oh, and a little water).

For your shampoo, you take about a tablespoon or two of the baking soda and add it to a cup of warm water (trust me, you want it warm — cool to the hand is freezing to the head).  You then pour this on your hair and rub it in a little.  Then rinse.  For the conditioner, you take the same amount (1-2 tbsp) of apple cider vinegar and add it to a cup of warm water.  Then pour this on your hair making sure to get it on all of your hair.  When you first do the baking soda rinse, your hair will feel kind of like straw or very dry.  That is because the baking soda strips your hair of all the oils and ick of the day.  The vinegar will then add the moisture and make your hair soft again.  If you have hard to brush hair, adding a vinegar rinse will also help with detangling.  And, vinegar dries odorless after you rinse it (even though you keep thinking you smell vinegar, it’s in your head — just ask someone to smell your hair after it dries).  It you want to add a smell, you add essential oils to the mix; I can’t give any info on that because I never seemed to do it right.  Just Google “no poo and essential oils.”

Verdict: I did this a few years ago for quite a while and stopped for some reason (probably because I got lazy, which means really lazy because this isn’t a lot of work).  My hair looked and felt amazing.  It does really cut cost on shampoo and conditioner because baking soda and apple cider vinegar are so much cheaper and last much longer than a bottle of shampoo and conditioner (unless you get the really cheap stuff).  It is also supposed to make it so you can wash your hair less because your natural oils kick back into their normal routine (all the chemicals we use now have them out of whack).  I could usually go for days without washing my hair if I really wanted to; so, I really can’t give any info about that.  Bottom line, I’ve done this before and am now waiting for my shampoo and conditioner to get used and will start again.  I do recommend a bottle like the old ketchup and mustard bottles below to use.  They seem to get the mixtures better into your hair than a normal cup.

squirt bottle

PS:  Laundry Count:  We aren’t even going to talk about that today.  Maybe I’ll acknowledge my laundry tomorrow.

photo credit: <a href=”https://www.flickr.com/photos/pablochu/2516984961/”>pablo_photo</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

