The Magic of Butter

image

Did I mention that I have a goal to become vegan.  In January of this year, I stopped eating meat.  This means no chicken or fish (in case you were going to ask….so many people have).  I still consume some dairy (CHEESE) and some egg products (I get mine from a guy I know — not the grocery store!!).  However, my diet is mainly plant-based….(woo herbivore to be :D).  Eventually, I want to be vegan.  Here lies my problem.  See, butter is not vegan (AGAST!!!).  Which is really sad because I think it wants to be vegan, but it isn’t.  There are some really good alternatives to butter that are vegan (you can find some sans trans fat too), and these work in recipes just fine.  But, you see butter, real butter, can’t be replaced.  It just can’t be changed out for soy butter or partially hydrated oil on things like fresh made bread.  It especially can not replace the magic that is making butter.  For anyone who has made butter, they know what I am talking about.

IMG_20140717_175234_137

The real magic in butter is all about the experience. It’s secretly pulling your five-year-old daughter out of bed on a school night to finally take that leap. It’s being so excited to see the fat break away from the liquid and then realizing the best part is your daughter’s reaction, to watch her be just as excited as you, if not more.

IMG_20140717_175802_104

When I first started researching butter making, I found all sorts of ways. My favorite came from Alana as so many of my firsts have. It’s just way too simple to not do.

To make butter the easy way:

Pour desired amount of heavy cream into the bowl of a stand mixer. Beat/whip (if you have the attachments) on high until the liquid breaks from the fat. (If the butter is just for you, you can dip your finger in for whipped cream just before it breaks.) After it breaks, pull out all the solids and drain the liquid buttermilk (fyi, not the same as the stuff at the store but great in place of water in bread).

 

Put all the butter fat in a ball and squeeze out all the liquid. Then, continue to do this while running the ball under cold water until the liquid turns clear. You want as much of the liquid out as possible to avoid the butter going bad sooner. Then, store in the fridge or a butter bell.

wpid-img_20140717_180713_586.jpg

Verdict: I clearly love homemade butter. However, because the cost is much more than store-bought, I only make it on either special occasions or when I really get a craving.

 

Pre-P.S.: I’m sorry I haven’t been here in a while.  Life just hit me and got a little busy.   I think I learned that two posts a week is a bit much.  I’m going to try hard to get back to one a week.

 

P.S.: Laundry Count:  About three loads of dirty to wash — I have to make some more laundry detergent and have been putting it off; two loads of clean to put away that are mostly towels, sheets, and wash cloths; and the rest of my big man’s clothes that he is going to hang up. (I love that they are old enough to do that themselves!!!)

Leave a Reply

